Select Page

Bob Dylan

How many cover versions by Bob Dylan can you handle? Because this year looks set to throw quite a few at you. The singer has announced that he will release not just an album, not just a double album, but a triple album featuring new recordings of classics from the great American songbook.

The album, called Triplicate, will see the Nobel prize winner reinterpret 30 songs made famous by the likes of Frank Sinatra and Billie Holiday, including September of My Years and Day In, Day Out. Dylan has long been fascinated by the history and traditions of American popular song, and has previously released Shadows in the Night (2015) and Fallen Angels (2016), which featured new versions of songs recorded by Sinatra.

Triplicate will be available on 31 March. The full track listing runs as follows.

Disc 1 – ’Til the Sun Goes Down
Side 1
1. I Guess I’ll Have to Change My Plans
2. September of My Years
3. I Could Have Told You
4. Once Upon a Time
5. Stormy Weather

Side 2
1. This Nearly Was Mine
2. That Old Feeling
3. It Gets Lonely Early
4. My One and Only Love
5. Trade Winds

Disc 2 – Devil Dolls
Side 1
1. Braggin’
2. As Time Goes By
3. Imagination
4. How Deep Is the Ocean
5. PS I Love You

Side 2
1. The Best Is Yet to Come
2. But Beautiful
3. Here’s That Rainy Day
4. Where Is the One
5. There’s a Flaw in My Flue

Disc 3 – Comin’ Home Late
Side 1
1. Day In, Day Out
2. I Couldn’t Sleep a Wink Last Night
3. Sentimental Journey
4. Somewhere Along the Way
5. When the World Was Young

Side 2
1. These Foolish Things
2. You Go to My Head
3. Stardust
4. It’s Funny to Everyone But Me
5. Why Was I Born?